[Solved] Problem with my Wink

Wink setup, hardware, basic programming. User to user support.
MadLing

[Solved] Problem with my Wink

Postby MadLing » Thu Feb 11, 2016 1:24 am

Hi,

I am working with a Mac running El Capitan. I have installed the latest Mac FTDI driver (v2.3), Arduino (v1.6.7) and Ringo library (Rev01-01).

Steps taken
1. Power on my Wink, the 2 eyes are lit up with blue lights
2. Start Arduino, connect the cable and ensured the serial port is connected.
3. Open the Ringo_PreLoaded_Behaviors_Rev06_01 files and click upload
4. Compiling sketch, uploading and finally done uploading appears, with no error messages
5. Wink's eyes are still blue and nothing happens when pressing any buttons on the Plum Geek remote. (batteries on remote are changed too)

Please advise

MadLing
Last edited by MadLing on Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wclift

Re: Problem with my Wink

Postby wclift » Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:32 pm

Caveat - I'm new to Arduino, but I've been playing with Wink for the last couple of days.

I believe your issue is that you are trying to run Ringo preloaded demo on the Wink. I believe there is a small confusion being caused because Wink is new and the current usage instructions refer alot to commonalities with Ringo. Much of the software setup refers to Ringo instructions, because many steps are the same. Install the ArduinoIDE. Then you are instructed to download the Ringo hardware libraries and copy them to your "arduino/libraries" folder, because Ringo/Wink share some of that set of libraries. However, this is where the instructions should diverge, and that's not quite clear.

If you return to the Wink page, you will see these instructions:
Here are links to the lesson plans, and example code.
Wink Base Sketch and Demo Behaviors
Wink Lesson Plans 1-5
Wink Lesson Plan Companion Code